Cafe reviews


 

 

Reviews courtesy of
Record your views at www.tripadvisor.com

All reviews received with thanks.

These are our latest reviews ...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 - 5 Stars

"Best Antipasto Platter"- 

Called in for wine tasting and lunch. The small antipasto was huge and wonderful. Delicious hot mushrooms, chicken nibbles, chorizo as well as dips, cheeses, fruit and salmon with generous serving of bread. Partner had the soup with chunky bread and that was great too. Wish we lived closer. Certainly plan to return.

Reviewed 1 August 2016 - 5 Stars

"Definitely Stop"- 

Stopped for lunch and a wine and was a fantastic place on the road north. Freezing out side but warm and sunny in. Great service and the platter for two was top notch, very good quality and plenty. Well recommended. Wine wasn't bad either.

Reviewed 28 July 2016 - 4 Stars

"Nice Atmosphere, Good Food, Good Value Platter"- 

We had lunch here on a recent Sunday, arriving at just after Noon. It was almost empty when we got there, but filled up by 1 PM. I suggest if you plan to arrive after 12:30 you should book. We shared the small sized platter, plus a green salad (also shared) which was more than adequate for 2 for not too heavy lunch.  I cannot fault the quantity or quality of the food we were served and there was a wide variety of items. I expect the large sized platter would be appropriate for a larger group to share, and everyone would find something on it they liked. The wine is also excellent.
Although it is a winery, it has a nice family atmosphere. We ate indoors, but there is a heated porch/patio and also an outdoor dining area.

Reviewed 23 June 2016 - 5 Stars

"Friendly Service & Great Food"- 

The owner, Jill Moore, was very friendly in serving delicious cakes, coffee and curry pumpkin soup to us. We enjoyed our drop in to this cafe.

Reviewed 18 June 2016 - 5 Stars

"Divine Food"- 

My husband surprised me with lunch and I'm so glad he did! I had the salmon salad which was so much better than I expected, very filling and beautifully presented. My husband had a steak and if he could have, he would have licked the plate! He said he has never had a steak cooked so well before and the thyme jus was to die for. Very well priced too, 2 wines, 1 soft drink, our meals and a bottle of Pinot to take home for $95! Would definitely come back. I promise you won't be disappointed!

Reviewed 16 June 2016 - 5 Stars

"Great Place for Wine Tasting and Lunch"- 

This is one of the few winery restaurants that is open for lunch in the winter. Most of the others were closed when we were visiting. We had a lovely lunch of soup and salad and some great wine. Staff were friendly and service was good. There a nice outdoor seating area that must be nice in the spring and summer. 

Reviewed 10 April 2016 - 5 Stars

"Great Setting for Wine and Lunch"- 

My partner and I had lunch here over the Easter weekend. Sign posted off the road with ample parking. Booked a table outside beforehand which was worthwhile as was quite busy. We shared a platter and while we waited for it to arrive, tasted 5 of their wines. Great wine as was the platter when it arrived. Perfect for 2 people to share for lunch. Friendly & attentive staff too - a great experience and value for money.

Reviewed 30 April 2015 - 5 Stars

"The best winery lunch platter ever!"- 

Stopped here via a winery tour from Christchurch. We had some beautiful wine to taste, and also the lunch platter, which was without a doubt the best we had ever tasted. The home baked bread was particularly good...

Reviewed 12 April 2015 - 5 Stars

"Often missed but well worth stopping"

On SH1 and with plenty of competition but an awesome family run venue. The outside area is fantastic and the food is great with huge servings. Well worth stopping.



Reviewed 22 March 2015 - 5 Stars 

"Special family treat"5 of 5 stars

I took all the family here for lunch before returning to UK. We ate outside as it was a scorcher of a day, bur we were near a giant fan, so we didn't get overly hot. We had a lovely meal, all of us having something different. The food was very good and well presented. Even the children commented on how good their food had been. (Praise indeed!!!) This is the second time we have eaten here. I think it was better this time around. I will certainly be going back. Love the Gewertztramminer.

"Great platter and wine"
Reviewed November 3, 2014

Waipara Springs Winery has always been a favorite of ours and it is only 40 mins from Christchurch and has a wonder outdoor area for sitting in the sun and relaxing while enjoying quality wine and food. We called in last Thursday after attending the Culverdon Fete we had a "Springs Small Platter" and a bottle of Premo Pinot and both where delicious :):)

"A lovely surprise"

4 of 5 starsReviewed September 9, 2014

After a quick visit to Pegasus Bay where we decided that nothing on the menu was suitable for me (6 months pregnant), my husband and I did a quick Trip Advisor search for other options. Waipara Springs had some good reviews and wasn't too far away so we gave it a shot. Best decision we could have made.
The service was friendly, and we basked in the sunlight on the patio while waiting for our meal. We ordered the mushroom bruschetta (entree size) and the chicken and cranberry pizza to share - and were both noticeably surprised and stoked when they arrived at our table - yummo!!!! The pizza probably would have been more than enough for the two of us, but we forced ourselves through both dishes as they were so good.
I'd highly recommend flagging the super posh Pegasus Bay, and heading straight here for a great dining experience - good honest food. You won't regret it!

"Worth stopping off"

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 10, 2014

It's quite a while since we last visited this iconic watering hole, but it always seems to be worth dropping in even just for coffee. The coffee was great, but we felt the selection of snack food was a little limited - just two styles of muffin and three gluten-free cookies to choose from. Are there any cafes that give a thought to diabetics??? Not many in our experience. Staff was pleasant and cheerful and gave an attentive welcome. There were many more diners present than on our previous visit, and judging by the dishes that were served to an adjacent table, the meals were attractively set out and of a reasonable size. We'll try again next time we're passing.

"Lovely ambience"

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 30, 2014

This is a real gem, one we haven't visited for some time, but the passing of time has in no diminished the enjoyment of a dropping in for a refreshing coffee and re-vitalising snack. Such a lovely outlook onto well-manicured gardens and sparkling fountains. Great coffee, friendly service and scrumptious food.

 

For all other reviews please visit the TripAdvisor website

Review courtesy of www.dineout.co.nz

Review by: Pickup1 (1) on

Total 9.0
Food 9
Dessert 9
Presentation 9
Service 9
Environment 9
Toilets N/A
Child Friendly Very

My family of five visited for a birthday lunch . We had visited a nearby winery the week before and had a very average experience so had low expectations . The food and service however were excellent and I think this place is going to be a favourite. One daughter had the pasta special another the chicken salad myself and my husband the lamb souvlaki , my young son the fish bites off the kids menu. We had bread and dips to share for entree. All the food was fresh of high quality ingredients and presented beautifully. The good was delivered in a timely manner. Our only complaint was with the generous portions we wished we hadn't had the wonderful ( homemade? ) bread starter. We managed somehow to fit in some lovely cheesecake and banana splits.
This place deserves to do very well and the difference between our recent visits to two nearby wineries shows how to do things very well and very badly.
This place is also child family with colouring in and a nearby sandpit.
We will be back ( hopefully with some good weather)thank you to all your staff for a lovely day.

 

    > Waipara Springs

    > Waipara Downs

    > Bascand Estate

    > The Springs

    > Jack's Canyon


 

Subscribe or follow us

For the latest news, events and wine deals, sign up now to our newsletter, follow us on Twitter or Like us on our Fan Page

Follow Waipara_Springs on Twitter

 

Featured Wine

WAIPARA SPRINGS PINOT GRIS

This is an aromatic, full-flavoured wine with tropical fruit notes of guava and fresh pears with a hint of quince spice. 

ยป read more

 

>> Online Shop

       

>> Wine Dogs

>> Image Gallery

If you have any images that you would like to see on our website, please do not hesitate to email them.

Waipara Springs
Winery & Cafe

Waipara. North Canterbury,
New Zealand

Phone: +64 3 314 6777
Fax:   +64 3 314 6993

Worldwide Distributors